Protected: Temporary Diversion of Air Ambulance from RCH

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:


Cyclospora Outbreak in BC

BC is experiencing an outbreak of Cyclospora infection with 6 locally-acquired cases reported since May 1.

Cyclospora cayetanensis is a parasite which causes a prolonged gastrointestinal infection. Symptoms include frequent watery diarrhea, anorexia, abdominal cramps and bloating, nausea and flatulence. Symptoms typically last several weeks to over a month and wax and wane in intensity. People are infected by ingesting contaminated food or water. The infection is not spread from person-to-person. See here for more details on Cyclospora infection: 

Cyclospora is not endemic in Canada. Most people are infected when visiting an endemic country in Latin America or South East Asia in the spring and early summer. When cases occur in Canadians who did not travel, an outbreak investigation is launched. Most outbreaks occur in the spring and early summer and are due to imported produce such as berries or herbs.

Cyclospora infection is diagnosed by a stool ova and parasite (O&P) examination. A special request must be made for Cyclospora diagnosis to ensure the appropriate stain is used by the lab. See here for BC Guideline for Ordering Stool Specimens: 

If patients present with Cyclospora-compatible symptoms between now and August, please request a stool O&P and indicate on the lab requisition “Cyclospora diagnosis”. This will help accurately diagnose the infection and assist the outbreak investigation.

Dr. Jeff Brubacher receives the Noni MacDonald Award

The Noni MacDonald Award recognizes an article in the Paediatrics & Child Health journal that has positively affected paediatric medicine. This year’s prize goes to the lead author, Dr. Jeff Brubacher of the article published in the May 2016 issue of the journal, titled “The impact of child safety restraint legislation on child injuries in police-reported motor vehicle collisions in British Columbia: An interrupted time series analysis”.

Read more about Dr. Brubacher’s accomplishment here.

Emergency Department Wins at People First Awards!

Congratulations to all of the People First Winners!

Award of Excellence in Innovation:

  • Dr. Kendall Ho, Emergency Physician, Vancouver General Hospital & TEC4Home Lead

Award of Excellence in Teamwork and Collaboration :

  • Mobile Medical Unit Deployment Team, Vancouver Acute & Vancouver Community:
    Lori Korchinski, Afshan Nathoo, Miranda Compton, Dr. Eric Grafstein, Michelle de Moor, Dr. Keith Ahamad, Dr. Annabel Mead, Caitlin Etherington, Dr. Stan de Vlaming, Tim Chu, Ross Maguire, Marsha Simons, Joe Acker, Peter Hennecke, Krista Golden, Nathanial Lim

Award of Merit in Teamwork and Collaboration :

  • Chest Pain Working Group, Emergency, Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver Acute:
    Lori Korchinski, Jaime Gallagher, Susan Harrison Salt, Sarah Turner, Lori Quinn, Cassie Wright, Sean Freeze, Bruce Hartnett, Dr. Heather Lindsay, Dr. Tong Lam, Dr. Chad Kim Sing, Erin Collins, Liz Crane, Darlene Davelaar, Christine Davie, Carole Dion, Michelle Dodds, Suzanne Fayle, Tracy Johnson, Tony Kumar, Gertrude Lee, Scott Maher, Penny Merletti, Trang Nguyen, Simona Pavlikova, Suzanne Pell, Evangeline Portillo, Jean Power, Gosha Roman, Sinead Ryan, Joanne Scott, Heather Sengara, Alexia Simeoni, Lindsey Bott, Angela Tait, Lindsay Tarasoff, John Tino, Veronica Tsang, Cindy Vanderbyl, Tracy Visser, Adrienne Zawyrucha, Carole Stevens, The Heart Services Cardiology Technologist team

Read more about their accomplishments here.